College of Liberal ArtsCLA NewsCollege of Liberal Arts announces winners of Distinguished Teaching Awards

College of Liberal Arts announces winners of Distinguished Teaching Awards

On behalf of Dean Soufas, the College of Liberal Arts is pleased to announce the names of the three faculty members and two graduate students who are the 2013 recipients of  the College of Liberal Arts Distinguished Teaching Awards. These awards, established and vetted by CLA faculty, highlight the College’s commitment to excellent teaching at all levels of the curriculum and reward instructors who dedicate themselves to student learning. They carry a cash prize and will be presented at the annual CLA Baccalaureate Ceremony on May 15.

  • Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award – Karen K. Hersch, G&RC
  • Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award – James M. Pasternak, FGIS
  • Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award (Non-Tenure Track) – Ralph F. Young, History
  • Distinguished Graduate Student Teaching Award – Jeremy S. Peterman, Psychology
  • Distinguished Graduate Student Teaching Award – Joshua M. Pongan, Spanish/Portuguese

The College is also pleased to announce that the 2013 recipient of the Eleanor Hofkin Award for Excellence in Teaching is Kevin T. Arceneaux, Political Science.  This annual recognition is given by the CLA Alumni Association to a member of the faculty who has a demonstrated record of excellence in teaching and service to our students.

Congratulations to all of our award recipients on behalf of the faculty, students, and staff of the College of Liberal Arts.  Your contributions to the life and vitality of the College and our students are deeply appreciated.