Criminal Justice Award Winners

Join us in congratulating this year’s Criminal Justice Award Winners. On May 1, 2018 the award-winning CJ Students were honored during the College of Liberal Arts Baccalaureate Ceremony. John Mercurio received the Criminal Justice Excellence Award, Claire Cochrane received the Criminal Justice Service Award, Cullen Zerbe received the Michael J. Gallagher Memorial Award in Criminal…

Leah Hamilton

CJ Grad Student Leah Hamilton Awarded a CLA Advanced Graduate Scholar Award

Criminal Justice Graduate Students, Leah Hamilton, was recently awarded an Advanced Graduate Scholar Award from the College of Liberal Arts. Advanced Graduate Scholar Awards provide financial support to resident doctoral students pursuing research in the humanities or humanistic social sciences in the College of Liberal Arts and the Tyler School of Arts. Awardees receive a…


Nahla Ward to receive the Diamond Award

Criminal Justice student Nahla Ward  has just been selected to receive the Diamond Award. The Diamond Award is the highest recognition by Student Affairs given to a Temple University undergraduate student.  This recognition is based on a holistic evaluation of the student’s accomplishments.  The Award is reserved for those who have demonstrated superior leadership, academic…


Congrats to Distinguished Upcoming CJ Graduates

The department would like to recognize our December 2016 graduates who achieved the designation of “Distinction in Major” for maintaining a GPA of 3.5 or higher in their Criminal Justice classes.  Those students are: Shayne Barren Tiffany Bernert Rikki Bocchinfuso Tori Broz James Hynd Hannah Krause Thomas Malampy Craig Miller Micah Moono Matthew Mundy Samuel…

Jamie Fader

Jamie Fader: Winner of the ASC 2016 Michael J. Hindelang Award

Jamie Fader has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 Michael J. Hindelang Award, which is given annually to recognize the scholar with a recent book that makes “the most outstanding contribution to research in criminology.”  Dr. Fader’s book, Falling Back: Incarceration and Transitions to Adulthood among Urban Youth was selected based on  “the depth and originality…