HomeContact UsContact us by Department

Academic Affairs

The Academic Affairs Division is responsible for providing leadership and oversight for all undergraduate and graduate educational, curricular, and student affairs matters and is responsible for ensuring the quality of all students’ academic experience.  The various units housed in Academic Affairs interact with the College’s department chairs, program directors, staff, students, and other entities across the University to advance undergraduate and graduate education and to ensure that departmental, collegial, and university academic policies and procedures are followed.

Jayne K. Drake
Vice Dean for Academic Affairs
Director of the Master of Liberal Arts Program
1206 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7743
Jdrake1@temple.edu

Annette McMenamin Bakley
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs
1249 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-3625
amb@temple.edu

Shawn Schurr
Assistant Dean for Graduate Affairs
1216 Anderson Hall
215-204-3361
Schurr@temple.edu

Christopher Marc Wolfgang
Director, Academic Advising Center
1810 Liacouras Walk, 3rd floor
(215) 204-8662
cwolfgan@temple.edu

Erin M. McHugh
Director of Enrollment Management
1214 Anderson Hall
erin.mchugh@temple.edu
215-204-2072

Patrick Gordon
Senior Advisor, Student Professional Development
1810 Liacouras Walk, 3rd floor
215-204-8692
pgordon@temple.edu

Eloise (Ella) Crawford
Assistant Director, Graduate Affairs
1218 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-6916
Eloise.crawford@temple.edu

Amanda (Mandy) Gibson
Assistant Director, Undergraduate Affairs
CLA Grievance Officer

1215 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-8504
gibson@temple.edu

Development

The CLA Development office helps reconnect alumni with the college while helping to raise funds essential to continuing CLA’s mission of educating the next generation of leaders.

Our office is here to help guide you through the giving process, whether you would like to send a check to support the annual fund or you are considering including Temple in your estate planning.

Development staff members enjoy planning and hosting the events that bring you back to campus and reconnect you with your classmates. Our office handles invitations and RSVPs for a variety of events on campus and throughout the city.

The Development office is also pleased to bring you occasional news and updates from CLA and Dean Teresa Soufas, through Compass, the annual magazine designed for friends and alumni of the college.

Fran Hollingsworth
Assistant Dean for Development
1226 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7845
hollings@temple.edu

Linda Lowe
Director of Development, School of Environmental Design
580 Meetinghouse Road
Ambler, PA
(267) 468-8440
linda.lowe@temple.edu

Marcus A. Bagby
Director of Development
1228 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9556
marcus.bagby@temple.edu

Maria A. Papa
Associate Director of Development & Alumni Relations
1225 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-4381
maria.papa@temple.edu

Ashley Phifer
Development Coordinator
1234 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9153
ashley.phifer@temple.edu

Denise M. Krenski
Development Associate
1229 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-8748
Denise.krenski@temple.edu

External and Government Affairs

External and Government Affairs works to foster healthy relationships with elected officials in Philadelphia, Harrisburg, and Washington D.C. The office serves as the primary liaison between the university community and governments on all levels, connecting governments to the many services offered by the College of Liberal Arts and representing the university’s interests.

Joseph McLaughlin
Assistant Dean, External and Government Affairs
Director, Institute for Public Affairs
840 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-5059
joseph.mclaughlin@temple.edu

Michelle Atherton
Assistant Director, Institute for Public Affairs
840 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9074
michelle.atherton@temple.edu

Langston Swygert-Huzzy
Senior Administrative Specialist
840 Anderson Hall
(215)204-1600
langston.swygert-huzzy@temple.edu

Faculty Affairs

The CLA Faculty Affairs Office assists departmental chairpersons, faculty, and staff with strategic academic planning, faculty recruitment and hiring, tenure and promotion processes, merit processes, sabbaticals, faculty awards, and other aspects of faculty development.

Our office is here to help you with all of these processes. We also run the annual faculty orientation programs within the College of Liberal Arts designed to welcome new faculty to the college.

Kevin Delaney
Vice Dean Faculty Affairs and Professor of Sociology
1239 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-5072
kdelaney@temple.edu

Faye Richardson
Director of Faculty Affairs
1244 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-6242
faye.richardson@temple.edu

Finance and Operation

The Finance and Operations Office is responsible for the development and implementation of University fiscal policies, accounting procedures, internal control mechanisms and financial systems. We prepare all official external financial reports and process all accounts payable transactions. We provide leadership and expertise as a university resource on financial information, business practices, and related regulatory issues.

The Office of Finance and Operations also oversees administration for the Office of Research.

Kevin M.Glass
Assistant Dean, Finance
1231 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7743
kevin.glass@temple.edu

Stephanie Tschanz
Assistant Director, Finance
1247 Anderson Hall
215-204-3744
steph712@temple.edu

Kimberly Fahey
Senior Director, Research Administration and Finance
1243 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7743
kimberly.fahey@temple.edu

Gina Barnes
Assistant Director, Pre-Award Services
1248 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9148
gina.barnes@temple.edu

Office of the Dean

Mary L. Longs
Administrative Coordinator
1238 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-1247
mmiddl01@temple.edu

  • Contact Mary to talk about College and University business for the Dean, including scheduling meetings, correspondence, and adjunct appointments.

Djuna B. Witherspoon
Sr. Clerk/Receptionist
Front Desk, 12th floor Anderson Hall
(215) 204-7743
djuna.witherspoon@temple.edu

  • Contact Djuna with general inquiries about the College of Liberal Arts and to reserve space in 1221 and 1235 Anderson Hall.

Office of Web Communications

The Office of Web Communications works to help the College of Liberal Arts communicate strategic messages via the web. Web Communications oversees the development and management of our online properties, which includes web sites for the College of Liberal Arts and affiliated departments, research centers and institutes, as well as our presence(s) on social networking services. Web Communications also serves as a liaison between University-level marketing and communication efforts and our affiliated organizations.

Website

Amanda Stankiewicz
Web Content Manager
1213 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-5449
amandas@temple.edu

Shannon Rooney
Asst. Director Communications
1219 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-2624
shannon.rooney@temple.edu

Planning & Administration

The CLA Planning and Administration Office facilitates the identification and deployment of University resources to meet operational and strategic priorities.

Richard Joslyn
Vice Dean for Planning & Administration
1217 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-3446
joslyn@temple.edu

Research

The Office of Research in the College of Liberal Arts exists to promote and support high quality research and scholarship by faculty members and students. The Office serves to nurture a climate conducive to research by disseminating internal and external funding opportunities, assisting in proposal construction and submission, post-award administration, and training faculty and students in the implementation and administration of their grants. We highly encourage creative, entrepreneurial, and interdisciplinary efforts by faculty and students in the College of Liberal Arts.

Kimberly Fahey
Director of Research Administration
(215) 204-3367
kimberly.fahey@temple.edu

Gina Barnes
Assistant Director, Pre-Award Services
1248 Anderson Hall
(215) 204-9148
gina.barnes@temple.edu

Administrators

African American Studies and History

Anne Eckert
Administrator
anne.eckert@temple.edu
215.204.4928

Anthropology, Criminal Justice and Sociology

Sharon Smith
Administrator
(215) 204-7577
sharon.smith@temple.edu

Economics, Geography and Urban Studies and Political Science

Belinda Wilson
Administrator
(215) 204-0472
bwilson@temple.edu

English & First Year Writing Program

Gloria Basmajian
Administrator
(215) 204-8516
gbasmaji@temple.edu

Intellectual Heritage, Philosophy and Religion

Gayle Schooley
Administrator
(215) 204-7210
gschooley@temple.edu

Interdisciplinary Programs

American Studies, Asian Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, and Women’s Studies

Gayle Schooley
Administrator
(215) 204-1644
gschooley@temple.edu

Languages

Critical Languages, French, German, Italian, and Slavic Department; Greek and Roman Classics, and Spanish and Portuguese

Michelle Pugliese
Administrator
(215) 204-5628
pugliese@temple.edu

Psychology and Neuroscience

Paula Kittrell
Administrator
(215) 204-2644
pkittrel@temple.edu