About the Philosophy Department

Temple’s Philosophy Department offers BA major and minor, MA, and PhD degrees.  The Department is comprehensive, with openness to analytic, Continental, and pragmatist traditions.  It has a rich history and continuing presence in the field of aesthetics with Professors Kristin Gjesdal, Joseph Margolis, and Lara Ostaric.  The Department also has special strength in European Philosophy, with Professors Paul Crowe, Kristin Gjesdal, Espen Hammer, Joseph Margolis, and Lara Ostaric.  There is expertise in Greek Philosophy, Early Modern Philosophy, American pragmatism, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of science, and feminist philosophy with Professors Colin Chamberlain, Joseph Margolis, Miriam Solomon, Jerry Vision, and David Wolfsdorf.  Assistant Professors (Teaching) Philip Atkins, Lindsay Craig, and Han-Kyul Kim also teach the undergraduate curriculum, and we have several adjunct faculty who offer specialized courses.

Chair of Department: Miriam Solomon
Director of Graduate Studies: Kristin Gjesdal
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Paul Crowe

What is Philosophy?

Dr Paul Crowe, the Director of Undergraduate Studies in Philosophy, offers some reflections on the nature of philosophy and the benefits of a major or minor in philosophy, with links to further resources.  Click here