Psychology Professor Jason Chein’s study was recently cited in a New York Times column outlining the benefits of smartphone use. He and his coauthors found that playing video games could result in visual working memory improvements. Read the whole column here. read more →

Jessica Hamilton and Elissa Hamlat (both students of Lauren Alloy), are two of the winners of this year’s SSCP (Society for a Science of Clinical Psychology) Student Dissertation Awards.   read more →

Carrie Potter, Rick Heimberg’s student,  has received a Career Development Travel Award jointly sponsored by the Anxiety and Depression Association of America and the Andrew Kukes Foundation for Social Anxiety. read more →

Carrie Potter, a student of Dr. Rick Heimberg’s, has been awarded an APA Dissertation Research Award  for 2014. read more →

APA awards 2014 Presidential citation to Debra Bangasser, PhD. For more info click on the link below:   read more →

The Association for Psychological Science (APS) has issued a press release regarding an article resulting from work conducted in Lauren Alloy’s lab (Temple Mood & Cognition Lab-Psychology Department). This article is being published in a flagship journal, Clinical Psychological Science. Dr. Alloy is the senior, corresponding author on the article and her Ph.D. student, Jessica Hamilton.. read more →

Research from Temple that Dr. Kathy Hirsh-Pasek and Julia Parish Morris did was the front page NY Times Sunday October 12th citations: Please see the link below for more details: ({%222%22%3A%22RI%3A17%22}) Dr. Hirsh-Pasek was also was invited to speak at the White House at the 30-million word gap conference this past Thursday. The NY Times.. read more →

Dr. Eunice Chen (Psychology) has received an additional year of funding from NIH for her research titled, The reward Neurocircuitry of Binge-Eating Disorder and Obesity-Pilot Study.   read more →

Dr. Laurence Steinberg has been chosen to be a recipient of the 2014 Beckman Award. The 2014 Beckman Award is given to ten notable professors from universities across the nation for inspiring a former student to make a difference in his or her community. See Link Below for more info on the 2014 Beckman Award: Beckman Press.. read more →

Dr. Debra Bangasser, Assistant Professor in our Department, was honored with an APA presidential citation.  The text for the citation is as follows: American Psychological Association presents this presidential citation to Debra Bangasser, PhD for her scholarly contributions related to sex differences in stress response systems and her remarkable leadership as the early career psychologist.. read more →