Graduate Student Spotlight

Samantha Connolly Samantha Connolly is a student in the Clinical doctoral program, working under the guidance of Dr. Alloy in the Mood and Cognition Lab.  After earning a Bachelor’s of Arts in Psychology from Harvard University, Samantha began her journey at Temple, researching the relationship between executive functioning and cognitive vulnerabilities for depression with a…


Master’s 4+1 Program

New Accelerated M.S. Program Designed to Prepare Students for a Doctoral Program by Dr. Pam Shapiro Fall semester 2016 marks the inaugural year of the Psychology Department’s accelerated Master of Science degree program.  The new 4 + 1 program allows outstanding psychology majors to earn both the B.A. in Psychology and an M.S. in Psychological Research in just…


Outreach and Translation

Looking Towards the Bigger Picture by Dr. Tim Shipley Over the next year I will be working with our new chair (Peter Marshall) and other colleagues to document, disseminate, and support outreach and translation efforts related to the range of research that is going on across our department.  Specifically, we hope to compile a ongoing…


Alumni Spotlight

Corey McMillan Reflects on His Time at Temple Dr. Corey McMillan is a Research Assistant Professor of Neurology at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine and a member of the Neuroscience Graduate Group and Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics at the University of Pennsylvania.  He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and…


Open Position – September 2016: Assistant Professor in Cognitive Psychology/Cognitive Neuroscience

The Psychology Department at Temple University is seeking to hire a faculty member in Cognitive Psychology or Cognitive Neuroscience to join the Brain and Cognitive Sciences area of the Department. Candidates should have a Ph.D. in Psychology, Cognitive Science, or Cognitive Neuroscience. This tenure track appointment is at the Assistant Professor level. Although the specific…


Philip Kendall’s work selected as landmark during 2016 EABCT International Meeting

The European Association of Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (EABCT) held its European/international meeting in Stockholm, Sweden, in September 2016.  

The EABCT organization decorated the convention center staircase with selected landmarks identified on each step.  Notice that the work by Dr. Philip C. Kendall on child anxiety was selected as the landmark for the 1994 step (see pictures).


image1 image2

Chair’s Reflection

A Note from the Chair I am delighted to send out the first in a regular series of updates from the Department of Psychology at Temple. I recently began as the new Chair of the Department, taking over from Marsha Weinraub who held the position for the past nine years. We are all very thankful…