Undergraduate Grants and Awards


Student Awards

The Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies Program has four annual undergraduate awards that honor academic and creative excellence in our students. The awards are acknowledged and celebrated by an annual formal award dinner sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts for all undergraduate awards granted by departments in the liberal arts. Students invite faculty members to join them in their celebration, as well as family and friends. The event fosters the appreciation of both undergraduate academic achievement and mentor/student relationships.


barbaraBarbara Brownstein Prize in Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies

This award is given by the Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies Program to honor Barbara Brownstein, former Provost, Professor of Biology, and Director of the Women’s Studies Program. It is awarded to a graduating senior and Women’s Studies major in recognition of leadership and academic excellence.


sanchezSonia Sanchez Scholarship

Established by the Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies Program to honor Sonia Sanchez’s contributions and achievements, the scholarship is awarded to a continuing Temple student whose engagement and activism with women’s lives, the struggles and triumphs of people of color, or global and humanist themes demonstrates the potential to make a significant contribution to social justice and the arts.


lordeAudre Lorde Prize

Established by Sonia Sanchez, Professor of English and Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, this award is given to a graduating senior in Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies who best exemplifies the activism and achievements of black lesbian feminist writer and teacher Audre Lorde (1934-1992).


cert of excellenceCertificate of Excellence

The Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies Certificate of Excellence is awarded to a student who performs community service as an activist in the health and social work professions, maintains academic excellence, and has been employed during some portion of his/her study at Temple University.



Past Recipients

Barbara Brownstein Prize

Bethany Schaefer, 2003

Allison Armstrong, 2004

Alexandra Hill, 2005

Julia Frederico, 2006

Rachel Fogletto, 2007

Kai Chandler, 2008

Leticia Garcia, 2012

Audre Lorde Prize

Annie Michelle Clark, 2003

Erin Schmitt, 2004

Che Young, 2005

Christine Mills, 2006

Elizabeth Zadnik, 2007

Jessye Cohen-Dan, 2008

Elizabeth Pride, 2012

Sonia Sanchez Scholarship

Regina Szczesniak, 2003

Katie Lynne Bashore, 2004

Jessica Cronin-Connolly, 2005

bex*, 2006

Kimberly Murray, 2007

Maya Shipman, 2008

Kate Moriarty, 2009

Kara Wexler, 2010

Leticia Garcia, 2011

Certificate of Excellence

Joel Nellis, 2012





811 Anderson Hall | 1114 Polett Walk| Philadelphia, PA 19122 | p: 215.204.1644 | f: 215.204.9611 | e: womenstu@temple.edu