The English Department has a number of awards that recognize our outstanding majors. They include:

Richard Beards Memorial Award

Established in 2014 by New City Writing and the English department in memory of Dr. Richard Beards, a colleague and friend who taught with curiosity and kindness for 50 years at Temple, this award honors a junior or senior undergraduate English major who has shown outstanding effort to promote the literacy and well-being of children in Philadelphia.

Albert J. Caplan Prize from the Academy of American Poets
Established by a gift from Albert J. Caplan and awarded as part of the Academy’s University and College Poetry Prize program, the Caplan Prize honors the poetic achievement of an undergraduate student enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts.

Randy and Samantha Deglin Memorial Award
Established by Beatrice Deglin Leder in loving memory of her grandniece and grandnephew, this award is given to an outstanding graduating English major who plans to pursue a career in the performing arts.

Loretta C. Duckworth Prize
Established by Loretta (CLA ’62, ’65, TYL ’92) and W. Joseph Duckworth, this award is given to an English major who has excelled in his or her coursework; has consistently selected a rigorous course of study; has shown particular talent at both the process of interpreting literary texts and producing well-argued and well-written papers; and has shown leadership abilities both inside and outside the classroom.

Bayne B. and Frances E. Isaacson Scholarship
Established in 1994 by Bayne, CLA ’58, and Frances, CLA ’58, Isaacson in memory of their parents, this scholarship is awarded to students entering their junior year who are majoring in English or psychology and who have demonstrated academic achievement and financial need.

Robert P. Liversidge, III Memorial Award
Ellen Liversidge established this award in honor of her son Robert (1963-2002), who was an English major at Temple who went on to work as a regional planner after his graduation in 1990. The award is given to an English major who demonstrates understanding of the importance of the humanities, generosity in working with other students, and excellence in writing.

Robert Marler Award
Established in honor of Dr. Robert Marler, former Chair of the English department, this award is given to the student who has produced the best undergraduate essay for the academic year. Students who have produced an essay within any upper-level English course are eligible to submit their essay to the Chair of the English department. While the essay in most cases will be an analytical research paper, the award may also recognize writing of a more relaxed and genial sort. The judgment of quality of this award will be based upon clarity and intellectual force, but also upon style and expression.

Dr. Tess Sandra Singer Memorial Award
Established in memory of Tess Sandra Singer, CLA ’64, by her family, this award is given to a member of the junior class who has shown academic excellence and plans to pursue graduate studies in English.

William Van Wert Award
Established by family, faculty, friends and students in memory of English Professor William Van Wert, this award is given to an outstanding English major who has completed his or her freshman year and is dedicated to the pursuit of becoming a professional writer.

Kenneth E. Williams Memorial Award
Established by Anne Babeck Williams (EDU ’55) in memory of her husband Kenneth E. Williams (CLA ’54, ’60, ’69), this award is given to a graduating student who excels in the study of English and plans to pursue his or her master’s and doctorate in English at Temple University.

Anne S. and Harold M. Zimmerman Award
Established in 2013 by Anne Zimmerman (CLA ’72, ’75), this award is given to an exemplary English student who has shown leadership among his/her peers. Preference will be given to a student interested in Medieval English.