APS features research from Lauren Alloy’s Lab

The Association for Psychological Science (APS) has issued a press release regarding an article resulting from work conducted in Lauren Alloy’s lab (Temple Mood & Cognition Lab-Psychology Department). This article is being published in a flagship journal, Clinical Psychological Science. Dr. Alloy is the senior, corresponding author on the article and her Ph.D. student, Jessica Hamilton…


Dr. Kathy Hirsh-Pasek’s language research presented at White House

Research from Temple that Dr. Kathy Hirsh-Pasek and Julia Parish Morris did was the front page NY Times Sunday October 12th citations: Please see the link below for more details: (http://www.nytimes.com/2014/10/12/us/is-e-reading-to-your-toddler-story-time-or-simply-screen-time.html?module=Search&mabReward=relbias%3As%2C{%222%22%3A%22RI%3A17%22}) Dr. Hirsh-Pasek was also was invited to speak at the White House at the 30-million word gap conference this past Thursday. The NY Times…


Dr. Debra Bangasser Honored with an APA Presidential Citation

Dr. Debra Bangasser, Assistant Professor in our Department, was honored with an APA presidential citation.  The text for the citation is as follows: American Psychological Association presents this presidential citation to Debra Bangasser, PhD for her scholarly contributions related to sex differences in stress response systems and her remarkable leadership as the early career psychologist…


Isabella Lanza Accepts Faculty Position

After a 4-year position at UCLA, Isabella Lanza has accepted an Assistant Professor position in Human Development at California State University, Long Beach. She has been teaching undergraduates part-time at CSU Northridge and UCLA during her postdoc/research position at UCLA, She will now move to a position that will allow her to combine teaching and research.

Dr. Richard Heimberg Announced as Bolton Chair

The Psychology Department is pleased to announce Dr. Richard Heimberg as the Thaddeus L. Bolton Professor in Psychology.  This professorship honors Dr. Heimberg’s  contributions as a researcher, educator and leader in the field of Psychology. Previous Bolton Chair holders include distinguished  faculty members Willis Overton and Ralph Rosnow, both now Emeritus Bolton Chairs. Thaddeus Lincoln Bolton…